Malicious-and Accidental-Fault Tolerance for Internet Applications
IST Research Project IST-1999-11583
1 January 2000 - 28 February 2003

Check out a summary of the project, or browse through the original project proposal.

MAFTIA involved experts from 5 countries and 6 organisations. The Industrial Advisory Board provided valuable feedback on the work of the project.

Research was organised into six workpackages.

Find out more about the key scientific results and achievements, and the benefits of this research collaboration.

Brian Randell and Robert Stroud were the principal researchers at Newcastle.

Paulo Veríssimo and Nuno Ferreira Neves led investigations at Lisboa.

QinetiQ's research was led by Colin O'Halloran and Sadie Creese.

Birgit Pfitzmann (now at IBM Zurich), Michael Steiner (now at IBM Thomas Watson), and André Adelsbach led the research at Saarland.

Research at LAAS was led by David Powell and Yves Deswarte.

IBM Zurich
Michael Waidner, Marc Dacier (now at Institut Eurécom), Andreas Wespi and Christian Cachin led the work at IBM Zurich.

David Powell

David Powell leads the Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance Research Group at LAAS-CNRS.

He graduated from Southampton University in 1972, and then joined LAAS-CNRS. He obtained his speciality and state doctorate degrees in 1975 and 1981.

His research interests include distributed algorithms for software-implemented fault-tolerance and stochastic Petri net modeling for dependability evaluation. He has written over 90 papers, managed several national and European research contracts, and acted as a consultant for companies in France and for the European Commission. He was the Scientific Director of the Delta-4 FP3 Esprit project and the Scientific Advisor of the GUARDS FP4 Esprit project.

He served as program chair of the first European Dependable Computing Conference (1994) program co-chair of the 26th IEEE Symposium on Fault Tolerant Computing (1996) and guest editor of a special section of Communications of the ACM devoted to group communication (April 1996). Dr. Powell is a member of ACM, IEEE, SEE and the IFIP 10.4 working group on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance.